Colour it in

Hi all,this is my second painting tutorial colour it in. What I’m painting this time will be from Scarab Miniatures there Projekt X range a Soldat( basically a zombie Nazi in power armour). This will be very similar to the previous colour it in I’ve done. I started off with Vallejo surface primer black through the air brush.

 For the base colour I made a mix of VMC ger. dark green 1:1 VMC black. I painted this mix mostly on the plate armour leaving some of the areas like trim ,elbow and joints still black. Done about 3 layers.

Next I done a heavy wash shade of GW nuln oil.

The next layer I applied was a straight VMC ger. dark green. I applied this all over the plate armour again but leaving the recesses of the previous shade a loan. Done about 4 layers.

Next I’ll start to highlight the armour using a mix of VMC ger. dark green 1:1 AP desert yellow. I done a lots of thin layers starting with the paint at the top of the armour using a second moist brush dragging it down ( blending it out).

Adding more of AP desert yellow to mix so it’s 2:1 VMC ger. dark green. Doing the same process again but not dragging the moist brush as far.

Adding more to the mix so it will be AP desert yellow 3:1 VMC ger. black green. I’ll paint all the edges of the green armour.

 

Next I made a glaze to try and soften and bring the colours transitions all together. Using a mix of Vallejo glaze medium 1:1 VMC ger. dark green also adding in 4 drops of water. I applied 3 very thin layers all over.

Now that all the green is finished I will paint all the other areas with VMC black.

Next I start highlighting all the black areas, leaving the helmet alone and the creases in the arms and behind the legs. The mix is VMC black 1:1 VMC german grey. Done in 3 layers.

The next highlight will be similar to what I did with the green using a second brush. Starting from the high points at dragging it down using straight VMC german grey. It is kinda hard to see in the picture but hopefully you can.

So I will now paint all the edges of the black I’ll using VMC grey green. Done with 2 layers.

Next I will paint a helmet using VMC grey green done with 2 layers.

Then I applied a shade 1 thin layer of GW nuln oil.

Once the shade is dry I reapply VMC grey green done with 2 layers leaving the recess of the shadow showing. Sorry that was meant to be a picture but I forgot to take it. For the next Final highlight on the helmet I used a mix of VMC grey green 2:1 VMC sky grey. When applying the paint I use the second moist brush again to drag it out.

I wanted the armour to look a little different rather than just green I added some brown tiger stripes in random parts of the armour. Using straight VGC charred brown done in 4 layers.

 Next I highlight the tiger stripes using a mix of VGC charred brown 2:1 VGC beasty brown. I’m also trying to leave some of the previous colour showing.

For the final highlight used a straight VGC beasty brown painting it more in the centre of the tiger stripes. Done with 2 layers.

Now we’re getting close to the end peeps going to do a little bit of basic battle damage. Using straight VMC black all paint random little marks on the armour.

Paint all the random black chips and also grills on the back and front and a plug with GW leadbelcher done with 2 layers.

Then I did a shade wash on the grills and plug using GW agrax earth shade.

Now for the finishing part of the miniature I will be painting energy bar on the gun is lenses on his mask and a button on the back pack. I used GW mephiston red done 2 layers.

I then applied a mixed shade wash of VGI black 2:1 VGI red done with 2 layers.

I then reapplied GW mephiston red but this time I did a lot of thin coats so the red was watered down quite a bit.

For the highlight I did a very similar using a very thin down GW wild rider red. After I painted very high points of the highlight using GW fire dragon bright. Done with 2 layers.

So the miniature is done I will not be varnishing it as I do not intend gaming with it just yet. Just need to do the base. For this I used Deco Art burnt umber as the base colour. Then I did a heavy dry brush of cinnamon brown followed by a heavy Brow brush of golden brown to finish off I used AP strong tone. Also adding some flock and leaves.

When painting I do add water or thinning medium to the paints but this varies between brands and age of paint. Here is the range of paints I used:

VMC Vallejo model color
VGC Vallejo game color
VGI Vallejo game ink
GW Citadel paints
AP Army painter

Hope you enjoyed this painting tutorial many thanks dcminiaturespainting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Colour it in painting tutorial, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

